Three Win Nobel Prize for Physics for Knowledge of Evolution of the Universe

  • Half of the prize will be awarded to Peebles for his "breakthroughs in the theory of physical cosmology."
  • This was the second Nobel awarded this year, after the Nobel Prize for Medicine.
  • Two Nobel Prizes for Literature will be awarded, for 2018 and 2019, after the event was suspended.

Three people have emerged as winners for this year’s Nobel Prize for Physics. James Peebles, Michel Mayor, and Didier Queloz have been awarded the prize thanks to their contributions to “knowledge of the evolution of the universe and the place of the earth in the cosmos,” as announced by the Swedish Secretary-General of the Academy, Göran. K. Hansson.

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901.

Half of the prize will be awarded to Peebles for his “breakthroughs in the theory of physical cosmology.” The other half goes jointly to Mayor and Queloz for their discovery of an ” exoplanet in orbit of a solar-type star.” Last year, the distinction went to Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland for their “groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

This was the second Nobel awarded this year, after the Nobel Prize for Medicine, which recognized the American William G. Kaelin and Gregg L. Semenza and brit anode Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, for their discoveries concerning the form as ” cells sense and adapt to available oxygen.

Alfred Nobel was a Swedish businessman, chemist, engineer, inventor, and philanthropist. Known for inventing dynamite, and after reading a premature obituary which condemned him for profiting from the sales of arms, he bequeathed his fortune to institute the Nobel Prizes.

The Nobel Prizes are awarded in the areas of Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Economics, and Peace. This year’s winners of the most prestigious prizes in the world were announced beginning October 7. The Nobel Prize for Chemistry will be announced on Wednesday, and on Thursday, the winners of the 2018 and 2019 Prize for Literature will be announced. The award with the most media coverage, the Nobel Peace Prize, will be announced on Friday. The last Nobel Prize to be awarded is that of Economics, and the event will take place on October 14.

An award for the “greatest service to humanity”

The Nobel Prizes were born of the will of Swedish scientist and industrialist, Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), to bequeath much of his fortune “to those who have rendered the greatest service to mankind.” Nobel, the inventor of dynamite, left his will to award prizes to people of excellence expressed in the will, made in Paris, in 1895, a year before his death. Currently, the Nobel Prize is the most prestigious prize in the world, something that is also due to the huge sums of amounts of monies that are awarded, about €830 thousand.

The Nobel Prize for literature was suspended last year, due to a scandal of sexual abuse and financial crime, which rocked the Swedish Academy. This year, two laureates will be awarded, for 2018 and 2019. The award ceremony takes place annually on December 10, the anniversary of the death of it’s founder.

Only $1/click

Submit Your Ad Here

Vincent Ferdinand

News reporting is my thing. My view of what is happening in our world is colored by my love of history and how the past influences events taking place in the present time.  I like reading politics and writing articles. It was said by Geoffrey C. Ward, "Journalism is merely history's first draft." Everyone who writes about what is happening today is indeed, writing a small part of our history.

Leave a Reply